About Me

Click on the texts below to view more information about myself!

Harrison Matthews

Email: HMatthewsArt@gmail.com

Mobile: 07797 968186

Profile

I am a very hard-working individual who strives to do my best towards my work. I am proficient at time keeping and I am diligent in the quality of work I produce. Moreover, I am a team and community player which is shown by taking part in the College choir and being a part of the house community for squash, tennis and badminton. I put in maximum effort and have gained a co-curriculum tie and multiple trophies for outstanding effort at my secondary school, Victoria College. My teamwork has further been shown in my recent jobs such as at La Grande Ourse, Le Braye, Valley Adventures and at Off the rails, where this is a key skill that is necessary in doing well in these situations.

 

Education

2012 - June 2019             Victoria College, Jersey

2005 - 2012                First Tower Primary School

 

A-Levels

Art                                                             A*

Photography                                    A*

Mathematics                                   B

French                                                   C

AS Level (March 2018)

Photography                                    B

GCSE’s (2017)

Art                                                             A*

French                                                   A*

Mathematics                                   8 (A*)

Physics                                                 A

ICT                                                            B

DT                                                             B

Geography                                         B

Further Mathematics              B

English Literature                      6 (B)

English Language                       5 (B)

Religious Education                 C

 

Employment History / Work Experience

Off the Rails (September 2020 – Current day)

I work as an all rounded staff member, helping with tapas, doing deliveries, waitering, bar work and mainly working as a pizza chef.

 

Victoria College (September 2020 – Current day)

To further my enjoyment for art I gained a work placement as an art teaching assistant at Victoria College. It has been an amazing experience, helping all ages of children, giving them the motivation, and sharing my enjoyment and flair towards art. I have also been able to focus on my art in some of my free lessons as well as at lunch.

 

Valley Adventures (August 2020 – Current day)

My duties include setting up and packing down all equipment, helping them into equipment and on to and off the obstacles. This includes the king swing as well as hoisting it up and assisting their landing on the power fan and zip wire.

 

Le Braye (June 2020 – August 2020)

I worked as a kitchen porter, gaining skills, like consistency and speed, as well as providing an insight into kitchen life.

 

La Grande Ourse (December 2019 - March 2020)

La Grande Ourse is a high end, very well known mountain restaurant in Les Gets at 1750m above sea level. Working both as a waiter and a chef du partie. As a waiter, I served drinks, food and took orders, as well as taking part in some fine dining evenings. As a chef du partie, I was responsible for the salad section which involved preparing all salads to accompany the food which I cooked such as tartiflette, cheesy chips, pulled ham and goats cheese as well as assembling the plates.

 

Corkscrew (June 2018 – December 2019)

My duties included serving customers, shelf stacking, organising the storeroom and generally helping French tourists.

 

Harper’s Catering (November 2017 – December 2019)

I worked in waitering, food preparation, service, bar work and customer service. Many events cater for over 700 guests which requires good communication and teamwork.

 

Leonidas (October 2019 – December 2019)

My duties included serving customers, choosing, packing, and wrapping the chocolates, as well as matchmaking different selections for online orders.

 

Abinger Cookery School (September 2019)

I enrolled on a one-week chalet cookery course as I planned on doing a ski season in the alps. This course provided me with helpful information about cooking, food safety and hygiene as well as more confidence to cook at home.

 

Dupont-Fahn Vineyards (August 2018)

I gained work experience on a vineyard in the south of France where I learned to prune vines for the September harvest as well as practice my French.

 

Every Child Our Future (ECOF) - St Luke’s School (October 2017 - April 2018)  

With the help of the charity ECOF (Every Child Our Future), I have been able to assist a local primary school by helping their year one students to read one day per week.

 

BDK Architects (April 2018) 

I gained work experience in an office environment using software packages (Archicad, Computer Aided Design) to create architectural designs including the house for one project and attended site visits.

 

Overbury & Morgan Lovell, London (July 2017)

Over the summer, I joined a UK business which defines, designs and delivers office fit-out and refurbishment projects. I created a space plan using a software package (AutoCAD) as well as attending site visits, for example the Royal College of Art and BBC TV Edit suites.

 

The Tennis Hub (July 2017)

During the summer holidays, I assisted the tennis coaches with the tennis programme for children aged 5 to 13. We provided a safe environment for the children with lots of fun activities to make sure they had a lovely tennis camp.

 

Skills and Achievements

  • July 2019 - Safeguarding and Protecting Children course

  • States of Jersey workshop in June 2018 - brainstormed ideas to re-imagine the Esplanade Quarter, in Jersey.

  • In September 2017 at Victoria College, I won the Berry trophy for the most improved student in every subject and the greatest achievement award for GCSEs. I received a co-curriculum tie which recognises pupils who have put in maximum effort for both activities outside of school and for academic achievement.

  • Achieved a bronze ESF badge for skiing in December 2016

  • Race for Life over 10 years raising money to improve the welfare of others.

  • I have completed different running and walking races

  • Jersey’s South Coast Challenge

  • Sandstorm, an obstacle and running race

  • A relay challenge for the Island Walk.

 

Hobbies and Interests

I thoroughly enjoy drawing and painting with a wide range of media, such as water colour, oil paints, pastels, chalk, charcoal and pencil. I have created lots of different styles of work sheets and have enjoyed researching the relevant artists, as well as creating my own website www.harrisonmatthews.com.

 

I am interested in photography and I would like to continue learning editing photos with Photoshop. As well as this I am interested in film and visual effects.

 

I play squash at a good level and have won trophies through junior competitions.

 

My other hobbies include tennis, cycling, kayaking, paddle boarding, walking, running and just recently coasteering and rock jumping.

 

References

 

Available on Request 

Created by Harrison Matthews

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram
  • YouTube

Any of my artworks which are shown in Contemporary Realism, apart from the artworks which say "Sold" when hovered over, can be purchased by emailing or texting me using my contacts shown below. 

If none of my artworks are to your fancy, a commission of your choice could be made, by preferably sending me a photo or two for references, or calling me to discuss your requirements.

Contact Me:

+44 (0) 7797 968186